The World of Lu

Creating a digital heritage while engaging in some quality musings!

3 in 5: Super-[natural]-size it for You, Son?

‘You do not have because you do not ask”

We’ve all heard that McDonald’s will Super Size a meal but this part of my story involves God who when asked will Supernatural Size a promise (smile!).

The Promise…

One adopted child, one natural born and a third which God did not reveal the way the child would come…  this was the 3 in 5 Plan.

Options…

Prior to hearing it from God in the shower one morning in June 1984, my wife Nora and I had begun the process of adoption discovery with a group called P.A.C.E. – Parents Adopting Children Everywhere .  We attended a series of classes where all options of adoption were studied including some personal “coming to grips” with the reason we were pursuing adoption (more on these two aspects in future posts! One called The Options of Adoption).

If there was any question left in our minds about going forward with adoption for our first child the revealing of God’s 3 in 5 Plan confirmed our course. You see, the “spiritual” thing might have been to wait for God to bring a miracle and not somehow try to fulfill our desire through a more “natural or controllable” way like adoption.

Sometimes God…

We regularly had sought prayer at meetings and conferences.  At one such meeting we asked Larry Tomczak, friend, pastor and Christian leader, to pray for us.  Larry was all too happy to oblige.  After praying he had a word of encouragement.  He said “Sometimes God withholds children so that we might adopt a child He wants to place in our lives…  And after that he brings the couple a natural born child”.

He was releasing us from any possible guilt of feeling we were not living up to anybody’s expectations including our own.  Legalism and condemnation for not having enough faith is a sad and nasty place to get caught in. Thank you for speaking grace Larry… plus Larry is no slouch when it comes to faith!  We received grace and faith that day, a great combination!

Time to Ask…

Once we had confirmed we were proceeding with adoption God prompted a scripture to me.  James 4:2

James 4:2  You do not have because you do not ask

He was encouraging me to ask.  I knew right away what it was because I had been thinking about it a bit.  I had wanted to ask God to confirm the first child’s adoption with some kind of supernatural sign.  I wanted this child to know that God Himself had placed him or her in our family.

Motive Check…

Was it selfish of me to ask for such a confirmation? James 4:3 says…

James 4:3  You ask and do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, so that you may spend it on your pleasures.

Did I have wrong motives?  Did I want more for my own glory or reputation?  Good questions… I thought on it for awhile and came to the conclusion that… No, I felt no conviction of the Holy Spirit.  I just wanted my son to experience all the grace and destiny and love I could pray in for him.  And that God could provide.  I believed that God had a very special purpose for his life.

So I Asked…

So I asked God to bless this child.  To confirm his adoption supernaturally.  To let him know that the path of his life was not an accident and that the Sovereign Lord of the Universe was in control and was at the helm guiding him through to his divine purpose.

Pretty heady stuff… but I prayed it just the same!

The scripture God had given my wife and Nora for the 3 in 5 Plan children was already pretty heady!

“Behold, I and the children whom the Lord has given me are for signs and wonders in Israel from the Lord of hosts, who dwells on Mount Zion.” Isaiah 8:18

So God answered my prayer and brought about some signs and wonders in ways I could not have expected.  More of this wonderful  first child testimony in an upcoming post.  (Got a lot of writing ahead of me I know but it’s oh so much fun and joy! Wish I had more time!)

Final Thoughts

As I was writing all of this down I realized how amazing this was in a way I had forgotten.  The 3 in 5 plan and this supernaturalized adoption are quite the evangelistic tools.  Atheists say God does not exist and try to tear apart the Bible.  The 3 in 5 plan is a testimony of God interacting in a personal and supernatural way in our ordinary lives.  God does reveal Himself in this time of history dominated by scientific materialism!

He asks  “Super-natural-size it for you, Son?  I just say, “Yes, Sir!”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

